Does Ramen Have Dairy? (What You Should Know)

Does Ramen Have Dairy?

Ramen noodles are quite popular and it’s enjoyed by a good number of people. Ramen is not just a Japanese noodle soup but it is also enjoyed all over the world however the yellow tint and taste make vegans and vegetarians wonder if it has dairy products in it.

Vegans are not meant to eat foods that come from any animal includes; eggs and milk, hence why screening what you include in your diet is very vital.

The birthplace of all things ramen happens to be China although it has increasing popularity all over the world. It is meant to be a noodle in a soupy broth although many people now make their recipe for it. It’s quite hard not to desire a cup of ramen noodles at any time of the day.

No, ramen does not have any dairy in it hence it is completely safe for vegan consumption however you do need to take note of the ingredients used in the seasoning packet. From dairy-free ramen noodles are happy to homemade and store-bought noodles. Maruchan ramen noodles specifically do not contain egg or dairy products.

Being vegan is not the only reason you might want to avoid dairy products, lactose intolerant is another factor. Not taking dairy products is of utmost importance if you do have lactose intolerant. So if you are on a vegan diet or have lactose intolerant, read on to know if your favorite ramen noodle has dairy in it.

What Are Ramen Noodles Made Of?

There have been claims in the past that ramen noodles are made from plastic, but this is just a false misconception. Ramen noodles are made from wheat flour and other ingredients such as kansui which is basically alkaline water and water.

There is also oil in ramen noodles however it is just like every kind of processed food, hence the seasoning includes preservatives and flavor enhancers.

Does Ramen Have Dairy?
Source: The spruce eats

Ramen noodles contain no plastic or wax but know that it does lack some key nutrients. Instant ramen noodles have high sodium contents which mean they have to be consumed in moderation.

Does Ramen Have Dairy?

Ramen noodles do not contain any dairy products and you should know the yellow color did not come from eggs or milk but rather from a key ingredient called kansui which is an alkaline solution that gives ramen its yellow tint.

You can always make your traditional ramen by simply making use of wheat noodles, salt, hot water, and kansui which means no dairy product needs to be used.

Many people believe Maruchan ramen noodles have eggs in them but surprisingly, it doesn’t. However, the seasoning is believed to contain some milk components, animal products, or sodium caseinate hence not all the top ramen noodles are vegan or vegetarian safe.

The seasoning packet generally contains ingredients like potato starch and some are likely to contain lactose.

If you are on the lookout for ramen noodles that is completely dairy-free, the best options are the top ramen chili flavor and soy sauce flavor, this is 100% vegan too. So in summary, noodles generally have no milk or eggs in them but the seasoning packet contains lactose hence most ramen noodle package states that the ramen contains milk.

Do Rice Noodle Contain Dairy?

Rice noodles’ principal ingredient is rice flour and water while cornstarch and or tapioca can sometimes be added to improve transparency.

Rice noodles are dairy free, it doesn’t contain milk or egg, which makes them a safer option for those with lactose intolerance or allergy.

can vegetarians eat ramen noodles?
Source: Kitchen Treaty

Can You Be Allergic To Ramen Noodles?

Ramen noodles are not just fast but you can also worry less about burning them and while you don’t have to scratch it from your diet plan completely due to its lack of nutrients, you might have to do that if you have an allergic reaction to the MSG in it.

Ramen noodles contain MSG and people who are allergic to this can get burning sensations, facial flushing, chest pain, and headaches.

It is also important that you consume ramen noodles in moderation even if you have no allergic reaction to them.

Wrapping Up

The main ingredients in ramen noodles are wheat flour, kansui, water, or oil, the extra ingredients you can find in them are 2% of calcium silicate, Caramel Color, Disodium Guanylate, Dried Leek Flake, Garlic Powder, Citric Acid, Disodium Inosinate, and Disodium Succinate.

These ingredients are found in the flavoring package, so, the problem is not with the noodles themselves but the seasoning.

Japanese ramen noodles are considered to be the best option if you are looking for a dairy-free and 100% vegan noodle. The best traditional Japanese ramen noodles to try are tempura, udon, soba, ramen, and the likes.

Looking for something?

Follow us on social media!

>